20 August 2007

Book Banter -- Kushiel's Dart

Title: Kushiel's Dart
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Genre: Fantasy
Length: 701 pages
Plot Basics: As a child, Phedre is sold to as an indentured servant to Anafiel Delaunay, a mysterious nobleman. Delaunay uses Phedre to help him gain information about the politics in the land and through her spying, Phedre learns a secret that threatens the entire realm. To prevent the land she loves from being destroyed, Phedre along with some dutiful companions takes on a mission to the far reaches of the world.
Banter Points: First, let Word Nerd just get this out there... WOW! This book was incredible. The scope of the world that Carey creates (which looks strikingly like an alternate western Europe) is wonderfully rich in detail. Adding to the fascinating world is a cast of intriguing characters that Phedre interacts with. This book has it all: intrigue, politics, some romance, some fight scenes and they blend together to keep the reader hooked.
Bummer Points: Apparently, all the books in this series are this long, so Word Nerd's in for the long haul to read the next four that are released.
Word Nerd Recommendation: Fans of George R.R. Martin or Robert Jordan take note. Word Nerd gives Carey's books higher marks than Martin or Jordan. For those that feel that Martin's cast of characters is too big, Carey's is more manageable and for those that got frustrated by Jordan's going-nowhere-fast tomes, Carey's book keeps the action at a good pace.
Bonus: Tune in Wednesday when Carey is the featured author in Author Answers.

No comments: